1223 Main Street
Newman, CA 95360
(209) 862-2933


Newman-Crows Landing’s goal is to provide  measurable information about NCLUSD students' core knowledge, skills, and abilities; acquired through high quality valid and reliable assessments. We strive to:

  • positively impact student learning and the public's understanding through quality assessment

  • provide meaningful assessment that is essential to assess the extent of student progress toward proficiency

  • provide accurate, understandable reporting that is essential so that all stakeholders have the data needed for making effective decisions concerning school policies, programs and curricula

  • provide knowledge about use of accountability measures, resources/tools to support best practices in the area of assessment and support broad understandings

The Assessment & Accountability department coordinates the administration and processing of district, state, and federally mandated assessments,  provides training and support for site test coordinators and principals, and ensures that appropriate test preparation and administration procedures are followed at all school sites in order to maintain test security. 

Statewide Assessments

California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP)

Parent Guides to Understanding

  • Smarter Balanced Assessments (SBAC)

    • These exams test students’ knowledge and skills in English language arts/literacy (ELA) and mathematics.

    • Grades 3-8, and 11

  • California Science Test (CAST)

    • This assessment uses questions that bring together science content, practices, and concepts.

    • Grades 5, 8, and once in High School

  • California Spanish Assessment (CSA)

    • The CSA is an optional test that measures students’ knowledge and skills in reading, writing mechanics, and listening in Spanish. 

    •  Grades 3-12 (optional)

  • California Alternative Assessment(CAA)

    • The CAA is designed for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities, the CAAs for ELA, Math and Science are an annual measure of what students know and can do using alternate achievement standards.

English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC)

ELPAC is the mandated state test for determining English language proficiency (ELP). It must be given to students of all grade levels whose primary language is one other than English. California and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of ELP to eligible students in kindergarten through twelfth grade. To learn more about ELPAC, click here.

Physical Fitness Test

The physical fitness test (PFT) for students in California schools is the FITNESSGRAM®. The main goal of the test is to help students in starting life-long habits of regular physical activity.

Students in grades five, seven, and nine take the fitness test. The FITNESSGRAM® has six parts, though California currently requires five parts be completed annually, that show a level of fitness that offer a degree of defense against diseases that come from inactivity. The test results can be used by students, teachers, and parents.

For more information, click here.